//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

“You Should…”

“…Build a bigger place”. That’s what many people say when they see how crowded our weekly sales are. Two hundred people or more is regular attendance and often more for our sales, and we are in a rather small place to fit that many. No one would like to have more room than us. The problem is the strict regulatory measures City Hall puts on businesses, especially small ones. The incredible cost of adding any dimension to our enterprise is too drastic to recover. Our research has shown that any additional space built in any direction would mount to an actual cost of several hundred thousand dollars. That cost is unrecoverable, and the only way to accomplish that kind of expense is with loans and off-time layouts, both of which cost time and money that would have to come out of thin air. We are literally operating at capacity, time-wise, space-wise, and personnel-wise, and expecting customers to sit through an auction that starts at 6-ish longer than 4 hours would be counter-productive.  I am so sympathetic to anyone endeavoring to open any type of business, and will do what I can to help.  As we roll on, we will do our best to keep things organized, accommodate as many as we can, and occasionally buy a lottery ticket, you will be the first to know if we win! In the meantime thanks so much for attending, and putting up with the crush.

Right now I know I am writing for a very select few here, and I don’t mind. When I was a DJ and a race track announcer, I was always quite conscious when the crowd was thin, and put as much, maybe more, effort into my own work, knowing those few loyal folks would appreciate it. Please, share this if you read it, send it out to anyone who might like the scrap of info here and there, I do this to share, inform, maybe entertain.  I do a little bit of anecdotal writing for other concerns, too, and this helps me sharpen my mental pencil, so I will keep doing it, for 3, 5, 20 or however many will read it. My advice for now is, when you see something new, interesting, or informative on the interweb place, share it however you can. I am often sharing Facebook posts, feeds I get from a number of sites, etc., hoping my friends get to see the cool stuff I find. This whole thing is built to openly share info, and it really does benefit the whole of us if we do it often and early. I don’t mind being shared, and I hope I see something from you in the near future. Go ahead, share!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Recent Comments

Richard Knapinski on My Friend Dick
barrettsauctions on Anniversary 47
Patrick Barrett on Anniversary 47
Mike Servant on Family Business
barrettsauctions on Losing It

Categories